The Yesteryear Regatta lives on in 2018

San Diego (CALIFORNIA) - The sunset cannon rang out at SDYC, echoing across the hulls of the classic yachts gathered there for the kick off the Ancient Mariners Sailing Society 2018 Yesteryear regatta. On the front dock, SDYC members and friends mingled with crews, building excitement for the next day’s racing. With a 22 boat fleet and excellent racing conditions, the SDYC Yesteryear regatta went off without a hitch.

The Yesteryear Regatta, first called the Spring Regatta, was organized in 1975 by California Classic boat enthusiasts Bill Clark, Doug Smith, and Bob Spriggs. They later founded the Ancient Mariners Sailing Society in 1976 to promote the enjoyment of classic boats.

Today, the AMSS consists of over 100 dedicated owners of classic designs that seek to preserve interest in racing, restoration, seamanship and maritime history. They typically host 4 events each year including the Yesteryear Regatta. The pursuit-style race features six classes: Classic A, Classic B, Classic C, Pacific Class (Spinnakers allowed), Split Rigs and an L-16 Class. The boats run a 12 mile course through San Diego harbor.

With brightly colored spinnakers set, it was tight racing into the leeward mark on the very last race. Typical of Classic sailing events, the teams were hotly matched on the race course but the camaraderie on the dock made for an even more enjoyable regatta.

Overall, Chimaera took the win for the Reliance Trophy for best elapsed time, closely followed by Miramar and Sprig. While Valkyrie took the Dingus Trophy for best Corrected time, then Rendezvous then Flirt.

Thanks to our Partners

Interested in becoming a partner of the CYOA? Join as a Gold Member or contact us at

The Classic Yacht Owners Association is an exempt organization as described in Section 501(C) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions and membership fees are tax deductible. Employer Identification Number: 81-285925

© Copyright 2023. All Rights Reserved. Website by risingT, LLC.