Classic Rating Formula

The CRF Rating

The goal of the Classic Rating Formula (CRF) is to provide an objective, accurate and transparent rating system that is uniquely suited to scoring classic yacht races. CYOA’s CRF Technical Committee routinely refines the formulae and factors used to calculate ratings annually, based on careful quantitative analysis of race results after each season. Maintaining the competitive balance within groups is a priority, but the ratings for most yachts will often change slightly from one year to the next even if the declared input data remains the same.  

Each year, each vessel needs a new CRF Certificate ($50 per certificate with a $25 rush charge after June 1). Certificates only cover a portion of our operating costs and we rely heavily on volunteers. We encourage owners to also support the CYOA’s efforts with a $100 membership each year.

2021 CRF Rating Documents

  • CRF Formula 2021




What’s new?

  • A Standing Rigging Factor has been applied as an adjustment to effective sail area, to account for the competitive advantages of composite or stainless steel rod rigging over the ss wire common to most classic yachts.
  • The Stability Correction that was first applied in 2019 has been refined using the ballast weight that is now required. (It was requested in 2019 as part of a data gathering process, but not used in calculating 2019 ratings).
  • The rated length of yachts with canoe sterns (‘double enders’) has been reduced to account for the fact that thier effective sailing length is less than what is implied by their declared waterline and overall profile lengths.
  • CRF 2020 Certificate applications require declarations for shroud type, ballast weight, Bm10 (only for hull dates >1990), design and build year, and a declaration of a canoe (or double ender) stern type if applicable.
  • Measurements for mainsail and spinnaker girths (luff to leech widths) will be requested in CRF 2020 applications as a data gathering effort, but not used in calculating 2020 ratings. They will likely be used in calculating ratings for 2021.
  • CRF was fundamentally reworked in time for the 2017 racing season, and it has been referred to as ‘CRF MkII’ since. Going forward, it will be referred to as ‘CRF 2020’ in 2020, ‘CRF 2021’ in 2021, and so on. This change is for clarity, and to emphasize the fact that refinements and rating changes are routine and to be expected from one year to the next. CRF certificates must be renewed each year.
  • Sail Material Guidelines have been updated for Vintage and Classic yachts. The guidelines, issued for Classic Regatta Organizing Authorities, encourage more uniformity from one regatta to the other. Each regatta has their own unique philosophies and traditions, so may not adopt all CRF recommendations. To review Guidelines Click HERE.
  • Recommended CYOA Division Assignments will be displayed on each certificate and available on “For Organizing Authorities” guidelines.

CRF News

Keel Types and Descriptions

Rig Types and Descriptions

Frequently Asked Questions


The Classic Yacht Owners Association is an exempt organization as described in Section 501(C) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions and membership fees are tax deductible. Employer Identification Number: 81-285925

© Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved. Website by risingT, LLC.