Annual Meeting Recap 2021

Classic yachting sailors welcomed the return to racing and cruising this year. Here in the Northeast from Maine to Long Island, the Classic Yacht Challenge Series saw 196 boats take part across 10 regattas and 19 individual races. 92 of those participating boats were members of the CYOA and we want to thank all of our members who make our efforts possible. 

On November 13th, the Annual Meeting and CYCS Awards were hosted at the Herreshoff Marine Museum in Bristol, Rhode Island. Thank you to all who traveled (through Tornado Warnings!) to join us in the celebration and to Pure Insurance, Gowrie Group, and Rumson's Rum for making it possible. 

The big announcements, aside from all the trophies for the award winners (listed below), were that the CYOA continues to grow and is financially solvent. The technical committee will review this year's results to adapt the CRF Formula as needed. The CYOA also plans to help all the CYCS regattas with reviewing NORs and SIs to help create consistency across events. The 2022 Schedule is also posted on our website. 

The CYOA is also always open to feedback, feel free to reach out to CYOA Members should have also received notices to renew their membership for 2022. If you are no longer a member or would like to join the CYOA, please visit

CYCS Overall Award Winners:

Most Races Sailed:  Black Watch (13)


  1. Marilee - Ken Colburn
  2. Black Watch - Black Watch Syndicate
  3. Sonny - Craig Venter


  1. Mah Jong - Patrick Ilderton
  2. Abigail - Jesse Terry
  3. Solution - Carter Bacon

Modern Classic:

  1. The Hawk - Oivind Lorentzen

Spirit of Tradition:

  1. Outlier - Harvey C Jones
  2. Blackfish - Ron Zarrella
  3. Ponyo - Paul Koch

Maine District


  1. Marilee - Ken Colburn
  2. Sonny -  Craig Venter
  3. Leaf  - Chris Bouzaid


  1. Zwerver - Frans Van Schaik
  2. Besherte - Josh Goldberg
  3. Rozinante - Craig Buttner

Spirit of Tradition:

  1. Vortex - Steve White
  2. Zingara - Robert Stevens
  3. Restive - Rob Alpine

MA District:

Due to Nantucket cancellations, no one qualifies for awards.

RI/CT/NY District Qualified/ Rank:


  1. Onawa - Mark Watson/ Steve Gewirz
  2. Dorade - Matt Brooks
  3. Black Watch - Kyle Dufur

Spirit of Tradition:

  1. Ponyo - Paul Koch


  1. Abigail - Jesse Terry

Thanks to our Diamond and Gold Partners

Interested in becoming a partner of the CYOA? Join as a Partner online or contact us at for details.


The Classic Yacht Owners Association is an exempt organization as described in Section 501(C) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Donations and membership fees are charitable contributions and tax-deductible. Employer Identification Number: 81-285925

© Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved. Website by risingT, LLC.